All drivers in Texas must have liability insurance to operate a vehicle; this includes motorcyclists. When purchasing coverage, it’s important to know your state’s laws regarding insurance requirements and types. The Houston motorcycle accident lawyers at the accident and injury law office of Terry Bryant can help you understand your policy and make sure your rights are protected.
As a Board Certified attorney and former judge, Terry Bryant knows the law and knows Texas. Our firm has more than 30 years of experience fighting for injured victims. We can help fight for your claim, too. Give our Houston motorcycle accident lawyers a call at (800) 444-5000 or fill out a FREE initial consultation form. Here are some state requirements for motor vehicle insurance that apply not only to cars, but motorcycles, too.
MOTORCYCLE INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS IN TEXAS
The minimum amounts of coverage for all drivers in Texas, according to the DMV, include:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage for one person in an accident
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage total per accident
- $25,000 property damage coverage per accident
Helmet laws don’t affect how much automobile insurance motorcyclists must have, and all drivers should always have proof of insurance.
TYPES OF MOTORCYCLE INSURANCE COVERAGE
This covers medical expenses for the other parties injured in the wreck. This includes passengers on your motorcycle, but not your own medical expenses.
This covers the cost of repairs to another person’s vehicle or personal property (fences, mailboxes, houses, etc.) when you’ve been involved in a crash with that person.
This covers financial expenses when you’re involved in a wreck with a person who doesn’t have car or motorcycle insurance.
This covers financial expenses when you’re involved in a wreck with a person whose insurance liability doesn’t completely cover the costs from the crash.
If you need help understanding your policies and the types of insurance coverage you can have, call Terry Bryant at (800) 444-5000.
LACK OF MOTORCYCLE INSURANCE PENALTIES
There are penalties for not having auto insurance and operating a vehicle, along with not being able to show proof of insurance. For your first offense, your driver’s license and registration can be suspended. If your license and registration are suspended for a second time because of insurance issues, your car may be impounded for up to 180 days and you will be charged by the state $15 a day for impoundment. These penalties apply to motorcyclists lacking insurance as well as auto drivers.